Finding my voice.

18 Jan

Yesterday, I was talking with a good friend of mine from college, and he’s begun networking, and has gotten some tips from the experts about getting himself out there. He was telling about cold-calling and contacting people that I look up to in my field just to pick their brains, gain connections, and get myself out there, and I think it’s a great idea. I mean, I’ve done a little of that already, but not a ton. So, I’ve decided to take the challenge. I don’t know about the whole cold-calling thing. One step at a time, ya know? (Not to mention that even though I’ve had jobs calling people before, I still hate talking to strangers on the phone.) But anyway, I emailed a few photographers in the Pittsburgh area that I really like, and two of them have already gotten back to me! One of them has invited me to his monthly get-together for photographers at his studio to bounce around ideas and look over portfolios. I’m really excited about that. The other one that got back to me said that he’d contact me if he ever needed an assistant. Also, one thing he said has really got me thinking. He gave the me tip of trying to figure out exactly what it is that sets me apart as far as fashion photography goes. So, for the past 24-hours, I’ve been brainstorming, and (with the help of my mom), came up with the idea of always using my patterns in my fashion photography, whether it’s very subtle or very obvious. Here are the links to the awesome photographers that I’ve gotten to talk to:

Danny Baca

Brian Kaldorf

2 Responses to “Finding my voice.”

  1. kseverny January 18, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    that is an amazing image

  2. angiecandell January 18, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

